Tags

, ,

The other day I went on a walk with my husband.  About ten minutes into the walk it hit me that I had forgotten to put on my fitbit that morning.  This is unusual for me as I wear it practically ALL  my waking hours!  I want every step to count, of course!  Well, frankly, I was so annoyed with myself.  I mean, now the walk wouldn’t count.  I had to stop myself from asking my dear (and logical) hubby to turn around and go home so I could find it and put it on.  I knew he’d think i was more crazy than usual and not want to turn around mid excursion.  I literally sighed.  Then I snapped out of it and realized: Of course those steps count! As does every step I take to be more active.  The fitbit is fun and motivating but it is just recording what I do so I have  quantifiable information. It’s as if I decided that anytime I eat but don’t track the food, it doesn’t count. We have all learned the hard way that untracked food sure does count, whether we want it to our not!

Therefore, that means that any activity I do, activity monitor on or not, still COUNTS!

Any tracking tool for food or activity is just that: a tool to help us.  Let’s use them for good and not evil!  Keep moving and yes, wear the monitor as much as possible since it is fun and pushes us to do more and even sometimes dance around in our bedrooms to get those last few steps to reach 10000!

Keep dancing!

Mindfully yours,

Miriam