Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

I’m not really into New Year resolutions as more often then not they fizzle fast.

A person I respect recently posted about each year choosing a word or phrase to focus her energies on, to embrace and foster internal change.

Then someone posted about choosing a word for 2023 with the first letter of your name to usher in 2023. I chose marvelous because, although I’m typically never at a loss for words, I couldn’t come up with anything better.

Then I chanced on the above phrase in a daily calendar planner I use.

Mindset!

Here I am always signing off MINDFULLY YOURS, and of course I mean it each time, but too often I am not mindful enough as I go through my day.

It’s only partially food related. So many things are just rote that shouldn’t be! I recently lost a bracelet. I remembered taking it off at some point but couldn’t recall where or what I did with it. It wasn’t very expensive but I liked it. It hit home that I am not focusing on what I do. My mind is racing to the next thing on the never ending to do list… so everything gets jumbled along my multi-tasked way.

But mindset isn’t the same as being mindful. Mindset is being able to switch how you view things, taking something from a difficulty to a challenge. Spinning an annoyance into a mere inconvenience. Seeing the silver lining in the inconvenient and mundane. Appreciating the blessings in what I have as opposed to focusing on what might be missing.

So my focus this year is to be more mindful while working on a positive mindset. And making it a marvelous 2023!

Marvelously and hopefully mindfully yours,

Miriam